First Bitcoin Purchase

My first experience with the highest valued cryptocurrency and without a doubt, the most widely known.

As an incoming sophomore, Bitcoin first caught my attention during September of 2017 when I heard some of my friends talking about it. Around the time, it was valued at a grand amount of $4,000 (just 1/5th of its peak which it would hit only 4 months later) which was a huge difference from its starting price of just 8 cents. Surprised at its exchange value, I sought out to find what this “coin” was having no previous knowledge. By watching youtube videos and reading articles, the general consensus I found out about this cryptocurrency was quite lob-sided. The majority believed that it was in a “bubble” and that it was subject to collapse and lose all its value. Taking advice from those sources, I focused my attention away from Bitcoin thinking that it would either decrease its value tremendously or crash.

4 months later, I randomly stumbled across a video which talked about the release of Bitcoin futures. To my surprise, in those 4 months from September to early-December, its price nearly quadrupled from $4,000 all the way up to $15,000. Seriously regretting my decision of not investing earlier in the year, I decided to not take any advice from outside sources and to just go with my gut feeling. I agreed that I should invest an amount I was comfortable with even if I could potentially lose it all. Therefore, I decided to invest $200. Now that I had the money, I just needed to find the right time to invest. Knowing the extremely volatile nature of Bitcoin, I waited for a minor crash to then put my money into. It went down to $13,800 and that’s when I officially became an investor in Bitcoin. After a week of constantly checking my phone for price updates, I finally saw it rise to $18,000. I agreed to sell my share of just 1.1% of one bitcoin to ultimately gain a profit of $35.17.

My time as a bitcoin owner (well 1.1% of one) was rather short-lived, but nevertheless a happy journey. I learned that I shouldn’t always take other people’s word, especially when I can generate some pretty good advice of my own.

6 thoughts on “First Bitcoin Purchase

Add yours

  1. well what you did was not advisable, not even by the greatest investors out there and as it turns out, bitcoin price is a bubble and may crash anytime not today not this year but surely. you just got lucky!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looking back at my experience, to me, my investment was more than making a profit or even a loss. It was more about that fact that I learned to make my own decisions. Maybe I was lucky, but at the time I was just happy to be $35.17 richer.

      Like

  2. I’m impressed with your vision and your foresight. I think you did the basic premise in buying low and selling high. Kudos to you and Godspeed in your future endeavors. Once you get an appetite for this it’s hard to stop it’s legalized gambling.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑